I’ve heard a lot of excuses for not going green. I’ve even thought them myself, but I’m here to debunk them. These are common excuses and problems for not going organic, zero-waste and every other shade of green.

It Won’t Make a Difference

Just today I was told that there’s nothing I can do to make a real difference because the problem is too big and my actions are too small. So many people quit before they even begin. The only way you won’t make a difference is if you do literally nothing.

Every small change makes a big difference. If every person who thought they couldn’t make a difference made one zero-waste swap, or switched one grocery item to organic than billions of of changes would be happening. You may be just one person, but one person, plus another person, plus another equals change.

One person changing will inspire others to change. They’ll see you bringing your own grocery bags, or  using a reusable coffee cup and be inspired to do the same. The more people who do something the more normal it becomes, and the more people who want to do it.

There are too Many Things to Change

You’re not wrong! There are a lot of things that need to be changed to have a greener world. Just remember that you don’t have to fix everything, and especially not all at once. If your goal is to become zero-waste change one thing. That’s it! Make one zero-waste swap and once it becomes a habit make another. Change is easier when you start slow.

Slow change is better than no change

If you want to go organic, pick one thing to change. If you pick food as what you want to change, switch to organic only for the “dirty dozen”. If it’s your beauty routine change one product.

What ever your green goal start slow and small. You’ll be better at sticking to your goals this way.

It’s too Expensive

Going green is only as expensive as you want it to be. If you want to go out and buy mason jars than do it, but you could just save the jars that are already in your recycling bin. You can thrift almost anything on a zero-waste essentials list. You only have to buy what you want to to go green, because odds are you already own most of it.

Not only that but what you do buy will save you money in the long run. A safety razor may sound expensive ($30-100CAD) but it’s better to pay that once than pay for new disposable razors every couple of months. Organic produce sounds expensive but I’ve always found it cheaper at the farmers market than conventional produce at a grocery store. It’s even cheaper if you grow your own.

Sustainably made products (especially clothing) is expensive but it almost always lasts longer. Try and invest in green products when you can.

What Will I Do With All My Stuff?

This is one I struggled with. You want to go green but you already own non-organic makeup, tea in bags, toxic candles, paper towel, plastic tuperwear, whatever. Use it up, donate, or give it to a friend. I use only loose leaf tea at home, but I didn’t throw out my tea bags. I gave a lot of tea to my friend, and kept some to leave in my office. You already own it so it’s too late. Don’t waste what you already own in the name of going green. Use it up and use it as much as you can.

